Star Trek: Into Darkness (2013)

This is strange. I watched this at the cinema and loved it, but never got round to posting a blog on it confessing my somewhat love for the sequel to JJ Abrams newly-imagined Star Trek franchise. I re-watched this on DVD and I must admit, these lovestruck feelings soon disappeared.

So, if you’ve been living under a rock, JJ Abrams rebooted the Star Trek franchises and has made it an action-fest heavy with CGI and etc. The first I liked, it was enjoyable and not being a huge Star Trek fan it was nice to watch a new franchise from a fresh perspective. However, the second one is an even further CGI-infested action thrown together with some of the original Star Trek quotes to what I can only assume is to please the original Star Trek fans.

In all honesty, I understand why the first scene was included, but personally, I probably would’ve preferred seeing the London HQ being blown up in retrospect. It just seemed to me that JJ Abrams loves those shots where the enterprise is rising up from water or the clouds. “Look at my majestic vessel” springs to mind.

Needless scene? Yes or no?

Needless scene? Yes or no?

So, the lowdown on this story is that the Starfleet Headquarters is destroyed on the inside. An ex-starfleet member, John Harrison (Benedict Cumberbatch) attacks every captain and first officer when they’re meeting, during Starfleet protocol. Admiral Pike (Bruce Greenwood) is killed. Sad sad times. Jim Kirk (Chris Pine) who just lost the command of the Enterprise due to failure in the mission we see Jim on in the first scene, is reinstated and goes and is ordered to pursue and kill John Harrison, who has fleed to a Klingon planet on the edge of Starfleet’s boundaries (dun dun dunnnn). You don’t have to be a genius to figure out that the Klingons are the sworn enemy of Starfleet. Everyone knows that.

There’s a little bit of a twist, but when I say twist, it was a plan that was to start a great war between Starfleet and the Klingons through Jim’s rash decisions. But then there’s just other ‘twist’, but more of an act of vengeance by Khan. I won’t explain, because it’ll ruin the story. It’s strange, but builds it up for areas that are just full of action. The characters are similar, with nothing spectacular in their display, because I feel the main focus of this film is the action-based sequences. However, that being said Uhura (Zoe Saldana) has a stronger role in this, than the first. We do get to a more humanised side of Spock occur with the big thing toward the end of the film, as he his bromance with Captain Kirk strengthens regardless of Spock not feeling logical about it (It makes sense when you watch it, trust me). Not being a fan of the original film or series I’m not sure how much Spock shows his human side if it were. Could someone tell me?

startrek_intodarkness

It’s good, don’t get me wrong. But the sequel upon second watching lacked something I felt in the cinema screening. It might be cinema, with the sequences built and acted out for the cinema surroundings. Given that, the film is enjoyable and doesn’t feel too long with the run time of just over two hours. But the ending was sort of a anti climax of sorts, it was more of a iconic Star Trek ending, but I still felt deflated and disappointed with the ending.

As I mentioned about the whole of the Star Trek franchise being rebooted it’s working, it’s roping in more of an audience, but as for the older Star Trek fans, is there any similarities? I can’t answer this, aside from some of the quotes like the shouting of ‘KHANNNNNN’. Some sections I feel as though there are including to please the original fans, because they felt out of place, different from the rest of the film? That could be just me though?

However, whatever JJ Abrams is doing with this franchise, it’s working to an extent, as there is room for more films down the line with the reimagined cast which although are not outstanding, Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto are playing with good effect. Such as becomes with the big science fiction films, comedy has played a dab hand in some of the films, and Star Trek: Into Darkness does include some elements, primarily from Captain Kirk’s mannerisms and Scotty (Shaun Pegg) confessing madness of situations. One thing I did pick up was Benedict Cumberbatch really enjoyed enunciating his words in this film. It’s worth a watch if you’ve seen the first one, or simply looking for a science fiction film, or simply wanting to get into the Star Trek franchise, realistically though with JJ Abrams, you know what you’re expecting from a film like that. Don’t expect anything too amazing.

3/5

Agree or disagree with what I said? Let me know what you think!

