AN EMPIRE OF WORDS

Iron Sky

Leave a comment

This has been sat in my draft box for a while, so I’ll post it now.

I watched this film not too long ago via Lovefilm Instant and I’m not too sure why. I had seen the film on the shelves in HMV and I did not appeal to me at all as it seemed it was going to be a serious film. How I was mistaken, but not in a bad way at all. Literally, my first impression was that it was going to be a serious drama about the Nazi regime coming back from the moon to try and retake back what they lost in the war.

However! This film was funnier than I first expected. There are subtle nods and hints toward the Nazi regime, previous films and just general comedic areas in the film. For example, there is a hint towards the famous scene in Downfall where Hitler rants toward his leading officers. We see a similar scene take place in an office of an advertisement manager for the president. Ranting like Hitler does in the scene toward her operations leaders. I must point out though it is one of those “so bad, it’s funny” comedies. To explain, the protagonist James Washington walks up to some people from the Ghetto in a Nazi uniform and realising he has been turned white and begins to act like his usual self – This of course is a disaster and he gets shot at. So bad, it’s funny.

Generally speaking the film, is okay, it’s entertainment. The pattern of the film is that there is a discovery made on the moon, that being the secret Nazi base on the dark side of the moon and then James Washington survives, but has his mobile phone taken. Obviously being on the moon they do not know the advancements in technology meaning that the mobile phone can power, what they call ‘Gotterdammerung’. This leads to their scouting out of the Earth (Of course) which also leads to (you guessed it) the fourth Reich’s attack on the Earth.

I must mention, this can be considered a unique film because part of it’s release is actually due to some fan funding, the figure is believed to be in region of 10% of the budget. This shows a want for this film to be produced by fans of the Scandinavian director. However, regardless of this I would enjoy this film on occasion, as only the comedy really carries it as the attack on Earth becomes really quite bad. Honestly I can only class it as “So bad it’s funny”.

Author: Nathan Harris

Currently studying Film & Television studies and Media Writing at Derby University. Hopefully wanting to become a film critic/journalist.

Agree or disagree with what I said? Let me know what you think!

