A Song of Fire and Ice: A First Reader’s Review

Generally, I enjoy a good read, but due to the university work and the wider reading involved, I’ve not been able to let the passion blossom further. Well I’ve finished university for my first year now, so it leaves a decent amount of free time. This has led me to start reading George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Fire and Ice series after hearing good things, via Twitter and reading decent reviews. Another factor is almost definitely due to the television series that has appeared as an adaptation of the book.

As I’m a huge fan of fantasy reads, A Song of Fire and Ice: A Game of Thrones did not shock me as to what it contained, but all the same, it still has the “cannot put down” factor that is key for me inside a book. However, me being only 7% in (thanks to my Kindle for helping me know that) I have not reached a point as to where I fully understand what is happening. Unlike Lord of the Rings, A Game of Thrones increases the amount of characters and the reader is immersed more so into this world Martin has created due to the great amount of detail surrounding each character, their thought patterns, their home life and more importantly how they feel. This helps for readers to connect with the characters. A reader’s connection is key for myself as I need a reason to keep reading on, for example, being only 7% I do not know much, but I have just found out that someone has been murdered which means Ned, the steward of Winterfell (I think I’m right there?) has to accept to be the King’s hand to use that authority to found out what happened. Now, I want to read on furthermore to find out what happened, but there is another thing I want to know about.

The very first chapter is opened with an odd description, but action packed. As I wasn’t too sure what really happened I had to re-read the first chapter a couple of times before I fully understood it, however, it got me gripped all the same. I want to know what it is, what happened and why did it happen (I don’t want to spoil it for everyone else). All in all, I feel as though I shall be reading the seven novels that have been proposed for A Song of Fire and Ice, simply because it has the factors I enjoy inside a novel. I enjoyed the immersion into a new world that is called Westeros and Essos I believe and it is reminiscent of Middle Earth which J R. R. Tolkien created, however, George R. R. Martin has expanded on this by giving a more characters rather than the nine of the fellowship. Martin has given us the option of rooting for a family that wants to throne rather than rooting for the favoured family. Also, I strongly recommend this to anyone who has spare time and enjoys a fantasy novel.

Thank you for reading. Any comments or thoughts you have on the matter are always welcome! I do enjoy other’s opinions.

2 comments

    1. It might be a bit of an extreme take, but it just reminded me of Middle Earth in the detail that Tolkien went into with Rivendell, the description of Minas Tirith and Rohan. But thanks for the comment!

Agree or disagree with what I said? Let me know what you think!

